Kano government threatens to close three banks for non-payment of taxes


The Kano state government has issued a two-week ultimatum to three commercial banks to pay their overdue commercial registration fees or be shut down.

Banks include FirstBank, Ecobank and Unity Bank.

A circuit court chaired by Chief Magistrate, Ibrahim Gwadabe, on Thursday in Kano sentenced the three banks for non-payment of business registration fees to the state government through the Ministry of Commerce, Industry, of the cooperative and solid minerals.

Also Read: Kano government fires four officials for alleged misconduct

The offence, according to the judge, violates Sections 8 and 9 and is punishable under Section 14 of the Kano State Trade Registration Act 2014.

The ministry’s information officer, Sa’adatu Sulaiman, said the judge, however, ordered the three banks to settle the outstanding fees within two weeks or face closing their operations until they paid the bills.

Last year, the Kano State Revenue Service (KIRS) sealed five branches of the Guaranty Trust Bank in Kano for non-payment of taxes to the state government.

Join the conversation


Support Ripples Nigeria, Support Solutions Journalism

Balanced and fearless journalism, driven by data, has huge financial costs.

As a media platform, we hold leaders accountable and we will not trade the right to freedom of the press and freedom of expression for a piece of cake.

If you like what we do and are willing to support solutions journalism, please donate to the Nigeria Ripples cause.

Your support would help ensure that citizens and institutions continue to have free access to credible and reliable information for the development of society.

Donate now


About Author

Comments are closed.