Himachal ministers, MPs to pay taxes, end to five-decade-old practice


The Himachal Pradesh cabinet decided that all ministers and lawmakers would pay their own income tax, ending the five-decade-old practice of the state treasury paying them the amount every year.

Also read: Tweet from Sisodia: AAP, BJP spar; not to be replaced as Himachal CM, says Jai Ram

The Cabinet decided on Thursday to issue an order to omit Section 12 of the Ministers (Himachal Pradesh) Salaries and Allowances Act 2000 and Himachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly Section 11-A (Allowances and member’s pension). The decision follows an opinion issued by the High Court of Himachal Pradesh on a petition challenging the provisions of the Himachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly (Members Allowances and Pensions) Act 1971 and the Ministers’ Salaries and Allowances (Himachal Pradesh) 2000, which exempt legislators and ministers from income tax on their salaries and allowances. The petitioners had also challenged the provisions made for the Minister in Section 12 of the Ministers (Himachal Pradesh) Salaries and Allowances Act 2000.

Punjab and Haryana governments still pay taxes for ministers and MPs

In neighboring Punjab and Haryana, however, state governments continue to pay income tax for their ministers and MPs.

On March 25, Punjab Chief Minister Bhagwant Mann said that all state MPs and ex-MPs would only get a one-term pension, even if they won multiple times. He also said that there would be a deduction in the allowances that are paid to members’ families. Previously, the retirement pension of a former MP from Punjab was 75,150 per month and the chosen one was entitled to 50,100 per month pension for each subsequent term.

Higher salary for constables appointed in 2015, 16

It decided to grant a higher remuneration structure to the categories of police officers appointed in 2015 and 2016 by authorizing the granting of a higher pre-revised salary band and rank to officers on a notional basis, since the new Himachal Pradesh rules (revised pay). , 2022 entered into force on January 1, 2022, effective January 1, 2016.

Constables now have the ability to set their pay based on the relevant pay setting factor and payment of back pay would depend on their options under the revised rules. Police personnel are protesting disparities in pay range.

CM’s mobile clinics in each assembly segment

The state cabinet meeting, chaired by Chief Minister Jai Ram Thakur, approved the start of a mobile Mukhya Mantri clinic in each assembly segment of the state. These mobile clinics would have facilities for testing, consultation, prescription, including drug distribution, basic laboratory services, vaccination facilities and procedures by a GP/specialist for those in remote areas with few access to medical facilities. This would help improve access and coverage of health services in rural areas.

The cabinet gave its approval to the draft policy for the recruitment of 5,000 workers in the public works department for road maintenance and other official works. They would be appointed for a fee of 4,500.

Improved revenue infrastructure

The cabinet has decided to upgrade Udaipur development sub-block to Lahaul and Spiti into development block to make life easier for people in the area.

It approved guidelines to regulate appointments/appointments and other terms and conditions of service of the Chairman, Member Secretary, Unofficial Members and other members of the National Pollution Control Board for the proper functioning of the Board.

He decided to create a circle of kanungo at Banerhdi in Mandi district under Mandap sub tehsil.

He approved the exclusion of Mohal Bhuth from the patwar circle of Bhamnoli in Shimla district and his inclusion in the patwar circle of Bachhuchh.

Two patwar circles, Chinja and Chansari, will be created by reorganizing the Kharahal circle in Kullu district.

Cabinet decided to remove Muhal Kaldu from Nadholi patwar circle in Kotla under tehsil of Kangra district and include him in Harian patwar circle in Jawali tehsil.


    Gaurav Bisht heads the Himachal bureau of the Hindustan Times. He covers politics in the hill state and other issues concerning the masses.
    …See the details


About Author

Comments are closed.